Caribbean News
Football Players receive awards at annual ceremony in TCI
By Courtney S Robinson, Msc Director Royele Communications Ltd
Apr 27, 2011 - 4:33:22 PM

PROVIDENCIALES, Turks and Caicos Islands – With the 2010/11 football season brought to a close, the Men’s and Women’s Football Leagues of the Turks and Caicos Islands Football Association (TCIFA) hosted their annual awards presentations, celebrating and commemorating players’ outstanding achievements.

In the last few years, football has emerged to become the hottest and most played sport in the country. This, along with the success of TCIFA’s recent recruitment drive, has seen its Academy numbers swell in size, ensuring that many schools and new players to the sport are now competing for the first time. Whole Gospel, Wesley Methodist, Provo Christian School and Shining Stars all made their competitive debuts with impressive performances. The TCIFA had made a concerted effort to develop the sport at all schools, especially those that have never had football programmes or teams before.

Building on each season’s success, the Association has created new leagues and programs, initiatives designed to encourage newer and younger players to the sport, while keeping those existing, firmly rooted.  This has proved a recipe for success.

The presentation ceremony will took place on Saturday, 16 th April 2011 at the Miniature Golf Course in Leeward, Providenciales and was one of enjoyment and celebration, as league players collected their certificates, medals and trophies for a job well done.  The event, held in association with the support of corporate sponsors:  Miniature Golf Club, NW Hamilton, Vino Tiempo, Faces and Fingers, CaicosMart Ltd. and After 5 Island Concierge, included a raffle, with prizes  donated by CaicosMart Ltd. and Paula Garland, a member of TCIFA’s Executive Committee.

For the 2010/11 season, the Women’s League saw the Net Rockers FC taking 1 st place, with AFC Hurricanes and Revolution FC coming in second and third respectively. Chanille Butterfield was voted “Player of the Season”, with Kadine Delphin garnering the “Most Improved Player” nod. Amelie Speer was again “ Best Goalkeeper”, with Jancilla Cox winning “Top Goal Scorer”.  Special awards were presented to Giselle Wright and Patrice Senior who were both voted Senior MVP, with Kadine Delphin , capturing the Junior MVP title.

The winners of the 2010/11 Men’s Football League were Provopool FC . AFC National won the President’s Cup defeating SWA Sharks in the Cup Final. It was a night dominated by AFC National whose young star, Marco Fenelus took home the award for “Top Scorer” having netted 25 goals in the season, the largest individual total for a season on record and was nominated for both individual player awards. He was successful in scooping the award for “Young Player of the Year” but was pipped to the “Player of the Season” award by his team captain, James Rene . AFC National’s coach Jon Flanagan was selected by the TCIFA’s Technical Director for the “Coach of the Season” award.




1 st place Net Rockers FC

2 nd place AFC Hurricanes

3 rd place Revolution FC  (this award was given to AFC Strickers that night in error – deepest apologies to both teams)



1 st place AFC Hurricanes



SENIOR MVP – Jacinda Alfrena, Giselle Wright, Patrice Senior (two awardees)
Kadine Delphin , Josul Noel,
MOST IMPROVED PLAYER Kadine Delphin , Christina Hinds and Arnell Taylora (Willandra Elliott received special mention in this category)

PLAYER OF THE SEASON - Christina Hinds,
Chanille Butterflied and Josul Noel
BEST GOAL KEEPER – Betha Belle and 
Amelie Speer

TOP GOAL SCORER – Jancilla Cox





Dream team: (selected by MFL President and Technical Director)

Mathurin Edelaire (GK) – AFC National


Jacques Ettiene (D) – AFC National

William Noel  (D) – AFC Academy

Marc-Donald Fenelus (D) – AFC National

James Rene (D) (Capt.) – AFC National


Dukens Dorisca (M) – AFC National

Marco Fenelus (M) – AFC National

Barrington Somers (M)  - SWA Sharks


Syed  Hassan (F) – SWA Sharks

Bobby Kwatt (F) – AFC Academy

Lenford Singh (F) – Provopool FC


Coach of the Season: (Selected by Technical Director)

Jon Flanagan – AFC National


Top Scorer:

Marco Fenelus – AFC National (25 goals – largest individual total on record)


Nominations for Young Player of the Season: (Nominated by MFL team managers)

Marco Fenelus – AFC National

James Rene – AFC National

Winner: Marco Fenelus


Nominations for Player of the Season: (Nominated by MFL team managers)

John Beckford – SWA Sharks

Marco Fenelus – AFC National

Syed Hassan – SWA Sharks

Bobby Kwatt – AFC Ac ademy

James Rene – AFC National

Winner: James Rene


© Copyright 2011 by -