The Bahamas Weekly Facebook The Bahamas Weekly Twitter
News : Bahamas Information Services Updates Last Updated: Sep 23, 2021 - 4:52:51 PM

Prime Minister Davis: ‘All hands on deck needed to face pressing challenges’
By Office of the Prime Minister
Sep 23, 2021 - 10:32:43 AM

Email this article
 Mobile friendly page
New Cabinet Ministers with those sworn in on Monday. (Missing from photo is the Minister of Health and Wellness, the Hon. Michael Darville who toured the Rand Memorial Hospital facilities in Grand Bahama) Photo/Letisha Henderson

Nassau, Bahamas - Six ministers and five ministers of state were sworn in today by the Governor-General as part of the new Cabinet of The Bahamas led by Prime Minister Hon. Philip Davis. 

The new ministries announced are comprised of Social Services and Urban Development; Labour and Immigration; Environment and Natural Resources; Transport and Housing; and Grand Bahama.

During the swearing-in ceremonies held on Wednesday 22 September 2021 at the Baha Mar Convention Centre, Prime Minister Davis said all hands on deck are needed to address the pressing challenges now faced by the country.

“I am proud that some of the best of those hands are part of our parliamentary team who can bring expertise, experience and industry to the task at hand,” said the Prime Minister.
Photo shows the Governor General, HE the Most Hon. Sir Cornelius A. Smith, Prime Minister the Hon. Philip Davis, and Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Tourism, Aviation and Investment, the Hon. Chester Cooper with the eleven Cabinet Ministers sworn in today BIS Photo/Letisha Henderson

Ministers appointed include:

•    Hon. Obediah Wilchcombe, Minister of Social Services and Urban Development and Leader of Government Business in the House of Assembly;
•    Hon. Keith Bell, Minister of Labour and Immigration;
•    Hon. Vaughn Miller, Minister of Environment and Natural Resources;
•    Hon. Jobeth Coleby-Davis, Minister of Transport and Housing;
•    Hon. Ginger Moxey, Minister for Grand Bahama; and
•    Hon. Mario Bowleg, Minister of Youth, Sports and Culture.

Ministers of State include:

•    Hon. Basil McIntosh, Minister of State for the Environment;
•    Hon. Myles Laroda, Minister of State in the Office of the Prime Minister;
•    Hon. Pia Glover-Rolle, Minister of State for the Public Service;
•    Hon. Lisa Rahming, Minister of State in the Ministry of Social Services and Urban Development; and
•    Hon. Zane Lightbourne, Minister of State for Education.

The new ministers of state, said the Prime Minister, will support the urgent and important work to be carried out by the new administration.

Prime Minister Davis said that while each title and role carry specific responsibilities, government agencies must work together to achieve the best results.

“Because government is organized by ministerial portfolios it is easy to forget the jobs that we do are intertwined,” said the Prime Minister. 

“The many arms of government must work together.”

Bookmark and Share

© Copyright 2021 by thebahamasweekly.com

Top of Page

Receive our Top Stories

Preview | Powered by CommandBlast

Bahamas Information Services Updates
Latest Headlines
Grand Bahama Power Company rate review filing
Amendments to Special Economic Recovery Zone (SERZ) Order
Chinese Embassy donates Greenhouses To The Bahamas
Major brain tumour surgery marks historical intervention at the Rand Memorial Hospital, Grand Bahama
Minister Munroe Toured the Parliamentary Registration Department