The Bahamas Weekly Facebook The Bahamas Weekly Twitter
News : International : Caribbean News Last Updated: Jun 11, 2018 - 4:17:19 PM

Saint Lucia to Host the 65th Meeting of the OECS Authority, 18-19 June 2018
By Nicole Mc Donald
Jun 11, 2018 - 1:13:44 PM

Email this article
 Mobile friendly page

Current Chairman of the OECS Prime Minister Honourable Allen Chastanet.

The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) Heads of Governments will meet in Saint Lucia for the 65th Meeting of the OECS Authority, to be held from 18th – 19th June 2018 at the Habour Club, Gros Islet. The proceedings will be held under the chairmanship of the Prime Minister of Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Dr., The Honourable Ralph Gonsalves.

The OECS Authority is the highest decision making body of the OECS and comprises the Heads of Government whose decisions direct the work of OECS.
It is expected that all ten Heads of Government ( of full members and associate members) will be in attendance to discuss matters related to climate change, trade, border security, external representation, applications for membership and other areas of regional priority.  
The OECS Authority is currently chaired by Prime Minister Honourable Allen M. Chastanet who will hand over to incoming chairman the Prime Minister of Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Dr., The Honourable Ralph Gonsalves. The chairmanship of the Authority changes annually, rotating alphabetically by country. Regular meetings of the Authority are convened twice per year. 

Established on 18 June 1981 under the Treaty of Basseterre, the OECS is responsible for promoting greater co-operation among Member States to “achieve the fullest possible harmonisation of foreign policy…to establish the Economic Union as a single economic and financial space…to discuss and facilitate constitutional, political and economic changes necessary for the successful development of member states and their successful participation in regional and global economies…”.

The OECS is made up of seven full Member States: Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines; and three Associate Member States: the British Virgin Islands, Anguilla and Martinique.

Bookmark and Share

© Copyright 2018 by thebahamasweekly.com

Top of Page

Receive our Top Stories

Preview | Powered by CommandBlast

Caribbean News
Latest Headlines
Alice Walker “reading” Plastered in Pretty by N.C. Marks
U.S. Government’s OPIC Delegation visit Saint Lucia
OPIC Acting President & CEO Bohigian Leads Delegation to Haiti
Four Countries in the Caribbean undertake National Safe School Policy Consultations
Award-Winning Journalist Brenda Blackmon to receive CTO's 'distinguished friend of the Caribbean' Award