The Bahamas Weekly Facebook The Bahamas Weekly Twitter
Sports Last Updated: Feb 6, 2017 - 2:32:04 PM

The 2009 National Cycling Championship is now history...
By Sylvia Russell
Jul 22, 2009 - 11:43:43 AM

Email this article
 Mobile friendly page

Nassau, Bahamas - Extreme temperatures did not hinder anyone registered from racing in the recent 2009 National Cycling Championships. After an opening prayer, the 23 cyclists started out together for the first of two grueling 18 mile loops.

Lee Farmer soon edged a comfortable distance out from the rest of the peleton. During  the six, of a six mile loop, the riders fell into groups in their categories so the finish line held lots of action, as sprints to it gave position, determined by hundredths of seconds, to riders.

RESULTS:                   OVERALL WINNER   -  Lee Farmer

72 miles   Senior I    -        1st    Lee Farmer               3:18:41:12
                                        2nd   Tracy Sweeting          3:23:36.95
                                        3rd    Barron Musgrove        3:23:36.97
                                        4th    Rowshan Jones         3:23:37.20
                                        5th    Kim Thompson          3:23:37.54
                                        6th    Rich Hincapie            3:23:37.91
                                        7th    Mark Holowesko        3:23:38.20
                                        8th    Scott Hirshorn           3:23:51.04

              Senior II          1st    Stephen Holowesko      3:34:19.76
                                     2nd   Stefan Krauskopf          3:36:50.95
                                     3rd    Wayne Price                3:39:47.91

               Senior III        1st   Van Demeritte                3:36:49.84

48 miles
               Senior IIII        1st   Mackey Williams           2:27.30.96
                                      2nd  Robert Bethel                2:27:31.04
                                      3rd   Robert Jones                2:27:31.79
                                      4th   Lashane Dean              2:42:17.79
                                      5th   Tommy Mackey            2:50:21.39

              Juniors         1st     Jay Major                2:21:57.79
                                   2nd   Anthony Colebrook   2:27:30.81
                                   3rd    Tony Mackey           2:27:30.83
                                   4th   Dangelo Sturrup        2:42:17.77

dnf  Jamie Nottage, Shawn Fox.

Junior National Cycling Championsh ip:

Young Tony Mackey Jr rides to victory in the junior division of the 2009 National Cycling Championship, held Saturday July18th.

An all out sprint to the finish line, with cheers from the spectators gave the following results

24miles   JUNIORS U-17       1st Tony Mackey           1:14:40.06
                                           2nd Jay Major                1:14:40.35
             3rd Anthony Colebrook   1:14:39.19
             4th Dangelo Sturrup        1:14:39.61
             5th Justin Minnis            1:17:01.43
             6th Rahiame Colebrook   1:17:01.65
             7th Michael Holowesko   1:17:02.21
             8th Bruce Hall                1:17:03.21

              1st  Antinece Simmons  1:17:36.66

             OPEN WOMEN       1st Carmel Stucci          1:15:00.79
             2nd Linda Holowesko     1:24:19:67

12 miles  JUNIORS II            1st   Liam Holowesko        37:37.88
             2nd  Adrian Canter            41:03.00

             1st Abagail Minnis            53:44.98

Bookmark and Share

© Copyright 2009 by thebahamasweekly.com

Top of Page

Receive our Top Stories

Preview | Powered by CommandBlast

Latest Headlines
RBDF Participates in Marathon Bahamas 2020 (Sunshine Insurance)
Colina Sponsors Two Teams in The JBLN
Dylan Wu claims 36-hole lead at The Bahamas Great Exuma Classic at Sandals Emerald Bay
The Bahamas Great Exuma Classic at Sandals Emerald Bay
Justin Roberts Earns Sports Law and Business Masters