The Bahamas Weekly Facebook The Bahamas Weekly Twitter
Sports Last Updated: Feb 13, 2017 - 1:45:37 AM

Bahamas National Sports Awards 2015 Results
Nov 27, 2015 - 1:05:24 PM

Email this article
 Mobile friendly page
(Photo: Adrian Francis)

The Ministry of Youth, Sports and Culture held their inaugural Bahamas National Sports Awards 2015 at the Atlantis, Paradise Island on November 21st.

“Oh my gosh, it’s an amazing feeling. I just thank God so much for all of the opportunities,” Miller told The Tribune “To be chosen among so many great athletes that we have in the Bahamas, it’s an honour and I just thank God for it.”  

PM's Award for National Pride and overall Athlete of the Year - Shaunae Miller (athletics)

Minister of Sports Award - Special Olympics

Olympic Committee Award - Arianna Vanderpool-Wallace (swimming)

Tourism Impact Award - Sunshine Insurance Marathon Bahamas

National Coach of the Year - Andy Loveitt (swimming)

Male Collegiate Athlete of the year - Chavano ‘Buddy’ Hield (basketball)

Female Collegiate Athlete of the Year - Jonquel Jones (basketball)

Overall Junior Male Athlete of the Year - LaQuan Nairn (athletics)

PHOTO: Shaunae Miller, National Athlete of The Year and Senior Female Athlete of the Year dances to her success at The National Sports Awards held at Atlantis, Paradise Island...Watch her dance in the re-broadcast of the event on Cable Bahamas later this week... (Photo: Adrian Francis)

Overall Junior Female Athlete of the Year - Joanna Evans (swimming)

Overall Senior Male Athlete of the Year - Tureano ‘Reno’ Johnson (boxing)

Overall Senior Female Athlete of the Year - Shaunae Miller (athletics)

Rising Star Award - Stephen Gardiner (athletics)

National Secondary Athletic School of the Year - St Augustine’s College

National Team of the Year - Swimming

Family Island Senior High School - Bishop Michael Eldon (Grand Bahama)

Phil Smith Award for Sports Journalism - Fred Sturrup (Nassau Guardian)

Corporate Sponsor of the Year - BTC

National Award for Courage - Leevan ‘Superman’ Sands

Brand Sponsor of the Year - Infrasoft Tech (from India)

Federation of the Year - Bahamas Swimming Federation

Federation President of the Year - Algernon Cargill (swimming)

Craig Flowers Award for Patriotism - Craig Flowers

(Photo: Adrian Francis)

Tureano Johnson (Photo: Adrian Francis)

(Photo: Adrian Francis)

(Photo: Adrian Francis)

(Photo: Adrian Francis)

Bookmark and Share

© Copyright 2015 by thebahamasweekly.com

Top of Page

Receive our Top Stories

Preview | Powered by CommandBlast

Latest Headlines
Kevin Major Jr. continues his dominance in the Florida USTA arena
Inner City Kids Benefit from D-Squad Basketball Camp
Joshua Turnquest named Tennis Male Athlete Of The Year(River State Conf)in College Tennis
Kevin Major wins a USTA Broward Summer Men's Tennis open
Jenna Bayles leads Sands Beer Cup