The Bahamas Weekly Facebook The Bahamas Weekly Twitter
Sports Last Updated: Feb 16, 2021 - 12:15:03 PM

The Tennis Love at the Johnson Memorial Tennis Tournament
By Bahamas Lawn Tennis Association
Feb 16, 2021 - 9:30:47 AM

Email this article
 Mobile friendly page

The tennis community showed overwhelming support of the tournament organized and sponsored by the Executive Board of the National Tennis Centre(NTC) in aid of the Johnson family. Brent and Eulona Johnson who were both Directors previously on the Board of the NTC have made tremendous contributions to Tennis in the Bahamas. This tournament was only a small token of the tennis community's love and appreciation for these two wonderful individuals who have passed.

Over 100 matches were played over the weekend in the Johnsons' honor. Persons ranging from as young as 8 to over 60 showed their support and played some great tennis. The NTC is truly appreciative to all of the persons who supported by participating in the tournament and also by giving monetary donations. NTC Chairman, Perry Newton thanked the organizing committee which was instrumental in ensuring a smooth and successful tournament led by NTC Vice-Chairman Darnette Weir and consisting of NTC Director Cory Francis, NTC Director Steve Taylor, Chilean Burrows, Esther Newton and Linda Thompson. Special thanks is extended to NTC Director Mr. Mickey Williams who meticulously organized the draws and scheduling. We also thank the additional volunteers who worked alongside the organizers
this weekend in various capacities: Everette Munroe, Renesha Tinker, Tara Mactaggart, Candy Bowe, Chantell Carey, Ricardo Demeritte, Kevin Sturrup, Larikah Russell, Bernard Clarke, Kendrick Gomez, Donte Armbrister, and Sarah Beukes.


Results from the tournament are as follows:

GS U10
Winner: Vonteneke Rolle
Runner Up: Victoria Sandi

BS U12
Winner: Giacomo Paine
Runner Up: Cameron Ferguson

GS U12
Winner: Claudia Drgon
Runner Up: Caila Bowe

BD U14
Winners: Patrick and Jackson Mactaggart

Runner Ups: Aidan Miller and Patrick Mackey Jr.

BS U16
Winner: Vontenken Rolle
Runner Up: Cailan Bowe


GS U16
Winner: Sierra Rodgers
Runner Up: Breann Ferguson

MS 18 -34
Winner: Dentry Mortimer Jr.
Runner Up: Colbert Newry

WD U24
Winners: Saphirre Ferguson and Breann Ferguson

Runner Ups: Sarai Clarke and Maddisan Bowleg

WD 35
Winners: Tara Mactaggart and Sarah Beukes

Runner Ups: Rita Roy and Sh'Ron Saunders

MD U24
Winners: Donte Armbrister and Anthony Burrows Jr.

Runner Ups: Jeffrey Thompson and Vontenken Rolle

MS 35
Winner: Bjorn Ferguson
Runner Up: Archie Burrows


MS 45
Winner: Oneil Moss
Runner Up: Bradley Flowers

MD U45
Winners: Jared Turnquest and Bjorn Ferguson

Runner Ups: Bud Cambridge and Patrick Fernander

MS 55
Winner: Stephen Thompson
Runner Up: Cory Francis

MD U55
Winners: Gerry Kanuka and Paul McCann

Runner Ups: Eugene Gibson and Alejandro Mesples

MD Open
Winners: Kevin Major Jr and Oneal Mortimer

Runner Ups: Marvin Rolle and Philip Major Jr.

Mixed Doubles Open
Winners: Perjae Major and Michael McNorgan

Runner Ups: Danielle Thompson and Stephen Thompson

Mixed Doubles 45
Winners: Eugene Gibson and Rita Roy

Runners Ups: Tom McDermott and Sh'ron Saunders


Sportsmanship medals were awarded to Neveah Sturrup, Saphirre Ferguson, Sarai Clarke, London Mortimer, Brandon Duncombe, Michael McNorgan, Shena Bowleg, Perjae Major, Patrick Fernander, John Gomez, Alexis Mortimer, Michael Cooper, Maddisan Bowleg, Archie Burrows and Cory Conyers.

We miss Brent and Eulona and we will continue to honor their memory. The
Johnsons daughters Kinza and Sarni will always have our love and support. If you did not have an opportunity to donate you can still do so directly to the account of Kinza Johnson at Commonwealth Bank Transit# 21106, Account #7066053359.

To all those who have participated, volunteered and supported thanks again for your show of love!


Bookmark and Share

© Copyright 2021 by thebahamasweekly.com

Top of Page

Receive our Top Stories

Preview | Powered by CommandBlast

Latest Headlines
Middle Tennessee wins the Prime Minister's Cup at 2021 Bahamas Bowl
Minister of Youth, Sports and Culture announces sports is back
Director of Sports Welcomes return of Gold-Medal-Winning Bodybuilding Team
Basketball Camp fosters more than talent with CWCO backing
Minister Lewis, Sports Director show up for Young Runners