The Bahamas Weekly Facebook The Bahamas Weekly Twitter
News : Ministry of Tourism Updates Last Updated: Feb 13, 2017 - 1:45:37 AM

Bahamas Tourism Announces Finalists of 16th annual Cacique Awards
By Kendea Smith, MOT
Nov 21, 2014 - 4:29:31 AM

Email this article
 Mobile friendly page

TOP: Chairman of the Cacique Awards Harrison Thompson brings remarks;LEFT: Permanent Secretary Harrison Thompson shares a warm moment with Clement T. Maynard Lifetime Achievement Winner Nathaniel "Piccolo Pete" Saunders; RIGHT: 16th Cacique Clement T. Maynard Lifetime Achievement Award Winner Nathaniel "Piccolo Pete" Saunders of Bimini.

Nassau, Bahamas - After weeks of submissions from the general public, the Blue Ribbon Panel has revealed its selections for finalists for the 16th Cacique Awards.

The nomination process began in early October and since then members of the public have nominated hundreds of tourism’s finest.

Nominations were submitted for the following categories – Transportation, Local Airlines and Tour Operators, Human Resources Development, Sports and Leisure, Special Events, Creative Arts, Handicraft, Sustainable Tourism, the Clement T. Maynard Lifetime Achievement Award and the Minister's Hospitality Award.

The seven-member Blue Ribbon Panel includes Chairman Antonius Roberts, Chairman of the Cacique Awards Harrison Thompson, Angela Cleare, E. John Deleveaux, Herman "Rudy" Sawyer (Grand Bahama), Reginald "Reg" Smith (Exuma), Stan Burnside and Romeo Farrington.

During a press conference held recently, Mr. Roberts stressed that it was not an easy task for the seven-member committee to select nominees.

“It is never an easy task to select finalists from among the many nominations submitted by the general public for recognition of their talents and hard work,” he said.

“We are humbled by the significant contributions to The Bahamas of these individuals and organizations. We take this opportunity to thank the general public for taking part in the nomination process and supporting the Cacique Awards.”

The finalists for Transportation are Paul Levarity of Bimini, Cheryl Fox Cambridge of Nassau, Albury’s Ferry Service Ltd. of Abaco.

For Human Resources Development, the finalists are Kevin Tomlinson of Grand Bahama and Sonia Cox-Hamilton of Nassau.

Local Airlines and Tour Operators finalists are Juan Moss of Nassau, Cherokee Aviation of Abaco and Majestic Holidays of Nassau.

For Sports and Leisure, the finalists are Andra “Andy” Smith of Andros, Ebenezer “Bonefish Ebbie” David - Bimini and Thomas “Bonefish Tommy” Sewell – Bimini.

For Special Events, the finalists are Mark Knowles Celebrity Invitational of Nassau, the National Family Island Regatta Committee of Exuma and Victorine Bannister-Collie of Nassau.

In Creative Arts, the finalists are James Pinder of Bimini, Jessica Colebrooke of Nassau and Kevin Tomlinson of Grand Bahama.

For Handicraft, the finalists are Roganna Wilchcombe & Vernetta Frith of Grand Bahama, Ellamae Brennen of Berry Islands, James Pinder of Bimini.

For Sustainable Tourism, the finalists are Charles and Theresa Knowles of Long Island, Bimini Sands Activities Center of Bimini and Candace Key of Abaco.

This year, a special announcement for the Minister’s Award for Hospitality will be made at a later date.

Announcements for the hotel categories were also announced.

The finalists for Employee of the Year are Michael Hall-Glinton of Grand Lucayan (Grand Bahama), Schaetra Knowles of Atlantis (Paradise Island) and Lavardo Knowles of British Colonial Hilton of Nassau.

For Supervisor of the Year, the finalists are Sandra Rolle of Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort (Nassau), Sharaca Frazier-McDonald of British Colonial Hilton (Nassau) and Clement Butler of Atlantis Paradise Island.

Finalists for Manager of the Year are Jamal Glover of Comfort Suites (Paradise Island), Glenroy Pratt of Atlantis Resort (Paradise Island) and Nathan Duncan of British Colonial Hilton (Nassau).

And for Sales Executive of the Year, the finalists are Chryzamuem Williams of Sandals Emerald Bay Exuma and Shantillya Sands of Comfort Suites (Paradise Island).

The winners of each category will be revealed at the Cacique Awards, which will be held at the Melia Nassau Resort on January 24, 2015 at the Melia Nassau Resort.

Tickets will be available come December 1, 2014 at the Ministry of Tourism.

Bahamian Music Legend “Piccolo Pete” is Cacique Lifetime Achievement Winner

Bookmark and Share

© Copyright 2014 by thebahamasweekly.com

Top of Page

Receive our Top Stories

Preview | Powered by CommandBlast

Ministry of Tourism Updates
Latest Headlines
Western Air Makes Inaugural Flight Between Nassau and Fort Lauderdale
The Bahamas Joins CARICOM Member States for Agri-investment Forum and Expo
Bahamas Festivals Are Back
The Bond Experience Comes to The Bahamas
Bahamas Ministry Of Tourism, Investments & Aviation to attend Sun ‘n Fun Aerospace Expo this April